Home > Christian Living > Sin, What’s Your Label?

Sin, What’s Your Label?

Westminster AbeyWhat is sin?

Here’s what dictionary.com says:

Noun

1. transgression of divine law: the sin of Adam.

2. any act regarded as such a transgression, esp. a willful or deliberate violation of some religious or moral principle.

3. any reprehensible or regrettable action, behavior, lapse, etc.; great fault or offense: It’s a sin to waste time.

According to the bible sin is what separates us from God. And as the first definition states it all originated from Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden. In the eyes of God all sin is equal and “all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” (Romans 2:23). I’m sure that I’m not stating anything new here or anything that any Christian would disagree with.

On my journey, I’ve had many debates with people about sin and the church. I’ve found people who are willing to “blur” the lines on things in order to make life “simpler” for them, yet draw a hard-line on other things. I’ve also talked with people who draw a hard-line on certain sins and make no exceptions about people who struggle with these sins, yet make acceptions for other sins that they see as more tolerable or acceptable. I’m no different I’m sure and by no means am I trying point out the spec in my brother or sister’s eye, I’m simply trying to make a point, and that is that sin is sin in the eyes of God. There are no bigger or lesser sins, they all separate us from God. I truly believe that if we as Christians can accept this and try to live by this principle we can make a greater impact in this world. If we just accepted all people for who they are, children of God separated from Him by sin, maybe, just maybe, we could reach out to people who for the most part feel judged and shamed by the church and God.

Imagine if we looked at the alcoholic, the homosexual, the murderer, the prostitute, the rapist the same way we looked at the person who lies or cheats. I mean I know that I’ve lied and cheated at one point or another in my life. I’m just as sinful as they are. Imagine if we just accepted them for who they are, no strings attached, no saying “we love you, but we hate your sin.” We just accepted them. Loved them. And treated them the way that we treated our fellow brother and sister in the Lord. What kind of impact could we have? Jesus reached out to those who were the outcasts. Shouldn’t the church of today as well? In the same way that they say you can catch more flies with honey than with vinegar we can reach more people with love and acceptance than we can by say your sin is unacceptable.

I’m not saying that we ignore the sin, but lets not make it the main focus of who people are. Last time I was in church there was no one there wearing labels identifying them by their sins. We are all God’s children saved by grace.

  1. Glenda
    January 23, 2011 at 9:04 am

    You just described Desert Stream!

    • January 23, 2011 at 10:27 am

      I know that there are churches out there like this. And, I’m glad that you’ve found one of them. I just wish they were seen as the norm and not the exception.

  2. Ryan
    January 28, 2011 at 11:24 am

    yeah man great post.. to me sin is WAY bigger an issue than it needs to be.. its been given more power and attention than God… because of Jesus we are dead to sin, seated in heavenly places with Christ.. if we mess up sometimes God isnt all mad.. He helps us to straighten our lives out by His spirit.. not by condemning sermons and striving to be in some way perfect. I love your blog man!!!

  3. January 31, 2011 at 12:00 pm

    Well said. It’s often frustrated me how certain “Christian” groups get all worked up about homosexuality, but overlook gossip and anger in the church. While all sin is equally sin, I wonder if some actions, depending on the situation, have the potential to do more damage than others? A good word picture for this would be what happened when Bush sent planes to strike Iraq. All the bombs they dropped had the same evil potential to kill, but some of the bombs actually hit civilian areas and killed large numbers of people unintentionally, while other bombs only hit and destroyed inanimate targets, like communication towers. Sometimes our actions (sinful ones) hit targets with greater collateral damage than others.

    • January 31, 2011 at 12:25 pm

      Interesting thought Rob. And although it may be this way, I don’t know that there is anywhere in the Bible that there are levels of sin. I’d imagine that if there were that God would have made sure to mention it in the Bible. Who really knows? I guess that’s just another one of the many mysteries in scripture and on our journey.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

