Home > Journeying > Stepping Out Of Fear

Stepping Out Of Fear

Where to begin?Journey On

To be honest I’m not sure where I’m going to go with this post. I’ve been doing some thinking since my last post and I’ve had some conversations with a number of readers about what my next steps are going to be. I made some statements there that I really can’t ignore and that I need to make some changes in my own life.

The truth is I think I’m afraid to make the changes in my life that I need to make. In the past I’ve made changes both privately and publicly and had the full intention of keeping up with it, only to end up failing and falling flat. I know that it’s human to fail and that we all will fail, but I’m a perfectionist when it comes to certain aspects of my life. And I hate to fail, not because I’m afraid that others will judge me, but because I’ve let myself down. We are our own worst critic’s right?

This is where it always gets interesting for me, because when I start to think this way 2nd Timothy 1:7 comes to mind. “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.” So, I know that I need to face my fear and move through this and that God has given me the tools to get where I need to be, but knowing and acting upon it are very different things. I know it seems like such a simple thing and that I should just get over it and move on, but it’s easier said than done for me.

As I write this I wonder if some of my failures in the past were because I didn’t have anyone to be accountable to, another Christian to talk about what I was going through, someone to pray with and share with. I realize that my lack of trust in others and my segregating myself from others was part of the downward spiral in my walk with the Lord. So, what do I do about this? Hahaha, I really don’t know, because once again that involves facing my fears.

I know that is sounds ridiculous but this is a very real fear for me. As much as I want to be “free” from this I don’t know where to begin, or how to move through this. Is it inner-healing? Is it deliverance? I really don’t know.

Here’s what I do know. At least I’m talking about it and that’s something new for me. So maybe this all part of the process to come out this cyclical stuff I’ve been going through and starting the healing process.

Tags: ,
  1. March 10, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    Hi Eric, If you knew me a few years ago you would know I was afraid even to speak when there were more than a few people around and I didn’t like change but in bible school I learned who I was and slowly began trusting that God was faithful as I ventured into the unknown.

    It was important for me to have friends to share my heart with but I found it most rewarding being mentored by a pastor and building a trusting relationship with him. I was quiet and had difficulty sharing my thoughts and didn’t like someone else suggesting ways I could do things…at first…

    Once I got to trust him a bit, I realized he only wanted the best for me and he helped me in times of need emotionally and financially and prayed for me often. Now I am able to freely express my thoughts, concerns or business ideas with him and I haven’t seen more fruit in my life not to mention the accountability.

    But it started with me trusting little by little and willing to be discipled so I encourage you to prayerfully consider asking someone you can trust to mentor you and walk with you through this journey.

    I am also available to shoot the breeze on facebook or I can call you sometime if you’d like. I commend you for your courage to want change and I know you have a great future ahead of you. Be Blessed my Brother.

  2. Amanda
    March 10, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    Hi Eric!
    Great and honest posting! For a while now I personally have been thinking about the things in my heart and life that I have kept in the dark – not wanting to expose to others or really, myself. It’s easy to sometimes say “well; that issue is really not that bad” – especially when I have no one to bounce it off. I think that God is not looking at what we deem as “good” and “bad” but much as what He wants us to be liberated from and to! All this to say; it’s a very powerful thing to step out of the dark and into the light – especially when you can firmly bet that there is GRACE in the light (with God and with those who love you). Yes, I believe we can be our worst critics (right up there with the devil who wants to keep us bound and in fear). So, I find myself being real about my fears and sins – and yhep…talking about it – with God and with someone I trust. One step at a time! It’s true though; some of my most beautiful moments in life have been when I have been honest with myself about my fears and then honest with God ONLY TO FIND HE ALREADY KNEW and HEALS ME AS I CONFESS. It’s a big load off my shoulders!

    Eric, you know that not everyone will accept where you’re coming from BUT you do have friends (God included) who understand and believe that you will and are taking hold of the riches of Gods best for you!
    Amanda

  3. Glenda
    March 10, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    Eric, it is a step by step process. I don’t think you even see it but you have already taken a number of steps. Think back to Rylan learning to walk! xoxoxo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

